REC's youth program winners

REC's youth program winners

Rural Electric Cooperative recently awarded and recognized 24 area students with trips and scholarships. Ten high school seniors shared $11,000 in scholarships assisting with their college expenses. Six high school juniors received all-expense paid trips this summer- three won trips to Washington D.C. for Youth Tour and three won trips to Cooperative Youth Leadership Camp near Steamboat Springs, Colorado. While eight eighth graders won a trip to Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperative’s YouthPower Energy Camp at Canyon Camp near Hinton, Oklahoma. 

Both the Youth Tour and Energy Camp competitions were open to REC’s membership and all students attending a school within REC’s service area. Whereas, only high school seniors whose parents or legal guardians are members of REC were eligible to apply for the ten scholarships available.

To compete in the scholarship contest, students were required to complete an application, and from all applicants, a committee of REC’s Board selected 10 finalists to interview. All finalist were selected as winners. Two students received $1,500 scholarships and eight received $1,000 each. Winners of the $1,500 scholarships were Matti Allen of Maysville and Kiley Horton of Rush Springs. Scholarships of $1,000 each went to: Seth Combes of Elmore City-Pernell, Kylie Arter of Lindsay, Alisha Smith of Lindsay, Cade Heavin of Ninnekah, Mitchell Crawford of Pauls Valley, Jordan Humphrey of Pauls Valley, Jared Perry of Pauls Valley and Cole Mills of Wayne. 

High school juniors competing in the Youth Tour contest wrote an essay as the first step of the competition. Judges selected the top six essays as finalists. The finalists competed in a speech contest to determine the trip winners. Judges selected Carson Mainka of Alex, David Barton of Bray-Doyle and Chase Ogletree of Lindsay as winners for Youth Tour in Washington, D.C. These students will travel to Washington, D.C. with approximately 70 other juniors from across Oklahoma to tour our nation’s capital.

The three runners-up won a trip near Steamboat Springs, Colorado for the Cooperative Youth Leadership Camp hosted by the Colorado Electric Cooperatives. Local winners will join students from Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado and Wyoming for the week-long camp. REC’s winners include Zach Davis, Kazi Mara and Dalton Otwell of Elmore City-Pernell.

REC’s winners to YouthPower Energy Camp were selected from a large group of essays submitted by eighth graders from several area schools. The group will attend the camp with 80 other eighth graders across Oklahoma. Winners include: Trace Adams, Sean Allgood, Taylor Baker, Miranda Miller, Cassie Mills, Hailey Pirtle and Lizzy Sparkman of Lindsay and Madisyn Magnolia of Ninnekah.

Student winners, parents, school teachers and administrators were honored at a banquet hosted by REC recently at the Cooperative’s Multi Purpose Center in Lindsay.

REC has offered these programs to area students since 1989. Over the past 29 years REC has provided: 304 scholarships; sent 86 high school juniors to the Youth Tour in Washington, D.C.; sent 78 high school juniors to the Cooperative Youth Leadership Camp; and sent 196 eighth grade students to the YouthPower Energy Camp.

Page Features: